Our Advisory Board

The HIA Board of Advisors develops policies and operational strategies to ensure the accomplishment of the Initiative’s objectives and goals. Each member serves for a term of two years and may be reappointed for consecutive terms by the President of the University of California.

The Board serves to address immigrant health needs by facilitating the work of key organizations that provide health care access. Their task includes providing advice and consultation for the HIA director and staff; working to eliminate the organizational and administrative barriers that prevent the optimal provision of migrant/immigrant health care; identifying prospective funding sources for HIA programs and activities; convening regularly scheduled meetings to communicate with key stakeholders in migrant/immigrant communities; and advising HIA staff on ways to provide culturally and linguistically appropriate programs.

2017 Advisory board

Advisory Board Members (alphabetical order)/Miembros del Consejo Consultivo (orden alfabético)

Anthony Rendon
Speaker of the House, State Assembly, California State Legislature / Portavoz, Asamblea del estado de California

Jose Medina
Assembly Member/Vice-Chair, California State Assembly / Miembro de la asamblea, Asamblea del estado de California

Frinne Azuara Yarzabal
Head, Program IMSS Opportunities
Mexican Institute of Social Security (IMSS) /
Responsable, Programa IMSS Oportunidades, Instituto Mexicano del Seguro Social

Stefano Bertozzi
Dean, School of Public Health, UC Berkeley / Decano, Escuela de Salud Pública de la Universidad de California Berkeley

Carmela Castellano-Garcia
CEO, California Primary Care Association / Directora Ejecutiva, California Primary Care Association

Patricia Chemor
General Secretary, National Population Council of Mexico (CONAPO) / Secretaria General, Consejo Nacional de Población de México

Mary Croughan
Executive Director, Research Grants Program Office, Universidad de California Oficina del Presidente / Directora Ejecutiva, Research Grants Program Office, University of California Office of the President

Hilda Davila
Directorate General of Foreign Affairs, Secretariat of Health of Mexico/ Direccion General de Relaciones Exteriores, Secretaría de Salud de México

Castulo de la Rocha
CEO and President, AltaMed Health Services Corporation / Presidente y Director Ejecutivo, Corporación de Servicios de Salud Altamed

Omar de la Torre de la Mora
Secretary General, Inter- American Conference of Social Security /Secretario General, Conferencia Interamericana de Seguridad Social (CISS)

Enrique Graue
President, National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) / Rector, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)

María Landazuri de Mora
Vice Minister, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Human Mobility of Ecuador / Viceministra, Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores y Movilidad Humana del Ecuador

Ricardo Lara
Senator, California State Legislature / Miembro del Senado del Estado de California

Miguel Angel Perez
President, Council of Mexican Federations in North America (COFEM)

Maria Andrea Matamoros Castillo
Sub-secretariat of state, External Relations and International Cooperation of Honduras / Subsecretaria de Estado, Relaciones Exteriores y Cooperación Internacional de Honduras

Anamaría Diéguez Arévalo
Viceminister, Foreign Affairs of Guatemala / Viceministra, Relaciones Exteriores de Guatemala

Diana Carolina Páez
Coordinator, “Colombia Nos Une” Program, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Colombia / Coordinadora, Colombia nos Une, Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores de Colombia

Melissa Stafford Jones
Regional Director, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Region IX/ Directora Regional,U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Region IX

Julia Tagüeña
Associate Director, Scientific and Academic Development, National Council of Science and Technology (CONACYT)/ Directora Asociada, Desarrollo Científico y Académico, Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología de Mexico


Honorary Members

Mario Gutiérrez
Executive Director/ Director Ejecutivo, Center for Connected Health Policy

George Ortiz
La Cooperativa Campesina

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s